skip navigation

BC riders win ODAC Championship

BC riders win ODAC Championship

The Bridgewater College riders won the 2009 ODAC Championship, edging Sweet Briar College for the title, Friday at Hollins University.

The Eagles finished with 16 points, followed by Sweet Briar with 14 and Randolph with 13. Hollins was fourth with 10 points while Washington and Lee with nine and Lynchburg with four points rounded out the scoring.

The title was the second for the Eagles in the past three years.

Patti Ann Thornton was named ODAC Rider of the Year for the second straight year. She posted an event high average of 88.25 on Equitation Over Fences.

Teammate Kailey Williams was named the ODAC Rookie Rider of the Year, averaging 77.875 in Equitation Over Fences.

Bridgewater's Sarah Irvine was named ODAC Coach of the Year.

Thornton and Williams were named to the All-ODAC Equestrian team along with teammate Chelsea Hames.