skip navigation

Prillaman Named to VaSID All-State Second Team

Prillaman Named to VaSID All-State Second Team

LYNCHBURG, Va. - Freshman forward Taylor Prillaman was named to the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) College Division All-State Field Hockey team as a second-team selection after a stellar season for the Eagles on the pitch.

For Prillaman, the honor is the second postseason award of her young career after she was named to the All-ODAC second team following voting conducted by the league's coaches in early November.

Prillaman led the way for the Eagles on the offensive end during the 2012 season as she helped propel Bridgewater to the semifinal round of the conference tournament.

The freshman tallied 15 goals on the year, which marks the program's highest single-season output of the 21st century.

During the course of the year, Prillaman owned a six-game goal-scoring streak and tallied three multi-goal games. The Magnolia, Del. native also netted four game-winning goals for the Eagles during her first year with the program.

The University of Mary Washington claimed the top two honors Wednesday with the release of the 2012 Field Hockey College Division All-State Team, as voted on by the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID).

Senior midfielder Lisa Charney was voted the Player of the Year, while her head coach Lindsey Elliott earned All-State Coach of the Year accolades. Shenandoah University's Alexandra Darrow was selected as the Rookie of the Year.


2012 VaSID College Division All-State Field Hockey Teams

First Team
D – Shelby Judkins, Jr., CNU 
D – Nicole Marburger, Jr., Lynchburg 
D – Amber VanHorn, Sr., Shenandoah 
D – Haley Kane, Fr., Mary Washington 
M – Shelly Milks, Sr., Lynchburg 
M – Caitlin Cahill, Sr., CNU 
M – Lisa Charney, Sr., Mary Washington 
F – Lindsay Leonard, Sr., Lynchburg 
F – Belle Tunstall, So., CNU
F – Lindsay Hendricks, Sr., CNU

Second Team
D – Melanie Tenney, Jr., Lynchburg 
D – Chelsea Hines, Jr., CNU 
D – Breanne Lowe, Sr., CNU 
D – Riley Hampsch, Jr., W&L 
M – Caitlin Baker, Jr., Mary Washington 
M – Alexandra Darrow, Fr., Shenandoah 
M – Marlene Lichty, Jr., CNU 
F – Taylor Prillaman, Fr., Bridgewater 
F – Jenna Steele, Fr., Mary Washington
F – Carrie Jacobs, So, Randolph-Macon

VaSID Coach of the Year – Lindsey Elliott, Mary Washington
VaSID Player of the Year – Lisa Charney, Mary Washington
VaSID Rookie of the Year – Alexandra Darrow, Shenandoah