Chamberlain and Hennessy Selected to All-ODAC Teams

Chamberlain and Hennessy Selected to All-ODAC Teams

FOREST, Va. – Sophomore Taylor Chamberlain earned a second-team nod while freshman Paige Hennessy was selected to the third team as the Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) announced its women's lacrosse all-conference teams following voting conducted among the league's coaches.

Chamberlain's made it two-for-two on the all-conference team during her stellar career with the Eagles. The Finksburg, Md. native earned second team honors after picking up an honorable-mention selection a season ago. Chamberlain was among the conference leaders in goals with 54 during the regular season, while her 20 assists led the Eagles and was good enough for ninth in the conference. Her 39 points in conference play ranked her seventh in the league while she cracked the top 10 in five separate conference-only categories.Chamberlain's 3.3 goals per game ranks her 90th in Division III. On the season, Chamberlain registered four games with five goals and tallied a six-goal outing in Bridgewater's 13-11 victory over Greensboro.

Hennessy turned in a stellar rookie season for the Eagles en route to earning a third-team selection. The Dover, Del. native rolled up 25 goals and dished out two helpers to help lead the Eagles offense during the 2012 season. Hennessy registered a trio of three-goal games and set a career high with five goals in Bridgewater's thrilling double-overtime victory at Virginia Wesleyan. The freshman was also outstanding on the draw earning a team-high 43 draw controls on the year.

Washington and Lee University midfielder Christina Benedetti headlines the 2012 All-ODAC Women's Lacrosse Teams as she was named ODAC Player of the Year.

Guilford College mentor Matthew Grosso earned ODAC Coach of the Year accolades, and Roanoke College midfielder Darragh Evarts was tabbed the ODAC Rookie of the Year. 

Randolph-Macon College midfielder Rachel Johnsen was named the ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete in a vote of the league's sports information directors.

Bridgewater wrapped up the 2012 season with a 6-10 overall record and earned the most conference victories for the program since 1999 after turning in a 4-5 mark in ODAC play.



ODAC Player of the Year: Christina Benedetti, Sr., M, Washington and Lee
ODAC Coach of the Year: Matthew Grosso, Guilford
ODAC Rookie of the Year: Darragh Evarts, Fr., M, Roanoke
ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Rachel Johnsen, Jr., M, Randolph-Macon


All-ODAC First Team

Allison Bonanno, So., Roanoke
Lesley Buckingham, Sr., Lynchburg
Alli Shearin, Sr., Washington and Lee

Christina Benedetti, Sr., Washington and Lee
Darragh Evarts, Fr., Roanoke
Eleanora Keene, Fr., Guilford
Kathleen Wager, Jr., Roanoke
Julie Will, Jr., Lynchburg

Elizabeth Hartge, Sr., Roanoke
Brianna LaMarca, So., Lynchburg
Leanne Stone, So., Washington and Lee

Liza Mettler, Jr., Guilford


All-ODAC Second Team

Kendall Adkin, So., Lynchburg
Taylor Chamberlain, So., Bridgewater
E'leyna Garcia, So., Guilford

Meade Brewster, So., Washington and Lee
Summer Frazier, Sr., Guilford
Olivia Hurt, So., Sweet Briar
Emily Lynch, Jr., Randolph-Macon
Nikki Salyers, Jr., Virginia Wesleyan

Amari Agee, Fr., Virginia Wesleyan
Maggie Benson, Jr., Randolph-Macon
Katie Oliver, Sr., Guilford

Cara Mulligan, Fr., Washington and Lee


All-ODAC Third Team

Natalie Belva, Sr., Virginia Wesleyan
Lily Colley, So., Guilford
Kelly Egan, Sr., Randolph-Macon

Mariko Carmichael, Jr., Virginia Wesleyan
Paige Hennessy, Fr., Bridgewater
Taylor Klevenz, Fr., Randolph
Rachel Johnsen, Jr., Randolph-Macon
Sarah Shannon, Jr., Lynchburg
Courtney Shelton, Sr., Virginia Wesleyan

Kelly Jacobson, Fr., Virginia Wesleyan
Ashley Stevens, Jr., Randolph
Stephanie Vogel, Jr., Roanoke
Olive Waxter, So., Washington and Lee

Christina Tran, Sr., Lynchburg