skip navigation

Eagles Place Six On All-ODAC Women's Soccer Team

Eagles Place Six On All-ODAC Women's Soccer Team

FOREST, Va. - Bridgewater College placed four players on the All-ODAC second team and two more on the third team released Tuesday by the conference office.

Heading the second-team picks were senior midfielder Meghan Groos (Linden, Va./Warren County)and sophomore forward Melanie Waters (Pasadena, Md./Chesapeake Senior).

Groos was named to the all-conference second team for the third straight year. This season, she scored three goals and added four assists. She finished her career with 22 assists and now ranks No. 1 all-time at BC in career assists.

Waters led the Eagles in goals with 12 and points with 29. She ranked fifth in the conference in points and tied for fourth in goals scored with 12.

Two Bridgewater freshmen also earned second-team honors. Anna Theisen (Clarksville, Md./River Hill) stepped into a starting role at midfield and scored seven goals while adding three assists.

Elizabeth Stump (Roanoke, Va./Hidden Valley) started as a defensive back for the Eagles and helped anchor a defense that recorded nine shutouts during the season.

Freshmen Erin Holden (Herndon, Va./Oakton) and Mari Marotta (Clifton, Va./Centreville) were named to the third team. Holden joined fellow freshman Stump as a defensive back while Marotta led the team and ranked third in the ODAC in assists with 11.

Theisen Stump Marotta Groos Waters Holden

Player of the Year: Brittany Klippstein, Sr., Mid., Lynchburg
Coach of the Year: Dr. Todd Olsen, Lynchburg
Co-Rookie of the Year: Dessi Dupuy, Fr., For., Lynchburg
Co-Rookie of the Year: Holley Beasley, Fr., Mid., Washington and Lee
ODAC/Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Jessica Edelman, Jr., For, Virginia Wesleyan 

All-ODAC First Team
Angela Bosco Freshman Lynchburg
Dessi Dupuy Freshman Lynchburg
Jessica Edelman Junior Virginia Wesleyan
Katherine Rush Freshman Washington and Lee
Brittany Klippstein Senior Lynchburg
Carmen Graves Junior Roanoke
Danielle Stephens Sophomore Virginia Wesleyan
Holley Beasley Freshman Washington and Lee
Beverly Hoath Senior Lynchburg
Maya Kantor Sophomore Roanoke
Krista Witmer Junior Virginia Wesleyan
Katheryne Lawson Senior Washington and Lee
Emily Leary Senior Washington and Lee
All-ODAC Second Team
Melanie Waters Sophomore Bridgewater
Erin Hauser Junior Randolph-Macon
Rebekah Adams Junior Roanoke
Christina Fernandes Junior Virginia Wesleyan
Meghan Groos Senior Bridgewater
Anna Theisen Freshman Bridgewater
Bri Eilman Senior Guilford
Joanie Snyder Senior Lynchburg
Elizabeth Stump Freshman Bridgewater
Tori Dott Sophomore Lynchburg
Megan Calabrese Senior Randolph-Macon
Hannah Winkel Senior Virginia Wesleyan
Jackie Bader Senior Lynchburg
All-ODAC Third Team
Mary Marotta Freshman Bridgewater
Hannah Schiltz Freshman Guilford
Marielle Rando Sophomore Randolph
Bre Ingargiola Junior Virginia Wesleyan
Jaclyn Nucci Junior Guilford
Jessie Gonzalez Junior Lynchburg
Stephanie Parenteau Junior Roanoke
Page Minton Senior Washington and Lee
Erin Holden Freshman Bridgewater
Rachel Harman Senior Guilford
Jamie Johnston Senior Roanoke
Kristen Anselmo Senior Virginia Wesleyan
Erica Keil Sophomore Virginia Wesleyan