skip navigation

Silver Anniversary Team: Speed Stands Out With Wide Receiver Group

Tyler Beiler, Marcus Richardson and Andre Jones are the receivers on the Silver Anniversary Team.

BRIDGEWATER, Va. – The Silver Anniversary Team receivers place a premium on speed with Tyler Beiler, Marcus Richardson and Andre Jones voted to the team by the Bridgewater College Sports Facebook Fans.

Beiler re-wrote most of the Bridgewater College receiving records during his career, eclipsing several records held by Richardson.

Beiler holds career records with 3.022 receiving yards, 152 receptions and 30 touchdown catches. During the 2010 season, Beiler set single-season Eagles' records with 1,342 receiving yards and 16 TD receptions. His 61 receptions in 2010 rank second in the record books.

Beiler was honorable mention All-ODAC in 2008 and second team in 2009. In 2010, he was first-team all-conference and ODAC Offensive Player of the Year. named Beiler the South Region Player of the Year in 2010 and placed him on its All-America first team. He was also a first-team All-American pick by the AFCA (American Football Coaches Association) and made the Associated Press Little All-America second team. Beiler was named the 2010 State Player of the year by VaSID and Roanoke Times. Beiler also received the prestigious Lanier Award from the Richmond Touchdown Club that goes to the state's top player.

Richardson graduated from Bridgewater as the career record-holder in receiving yards with 2,541 and TD receptions with 22. He now ranks No. 2 in both categories behind Beiler and stands fourth in career receptions with 118. Richardson had two 1,000-yard seasons with 1,028 receiving yards in 2001 and 1,005 in 2000.

Richardson was a second-team All-ODAC selection in 2000 before earning a spot on the first team in 2001. He was named 2001 State Offensive End of the Year by the Richmond Touchdown Club.

Jones, a 2002 graduate, teamed up with Richardson on the 2001 Stagg Bowl team, giving the Eagles one of the most explosive wide receiver tandems in the country.

Jones ranks No. 5 all-time at Bridgewater in career receiving yards with 1,529 and career TD receptions with 18. He ranks No. 7 in career receptions with 98. Jones caught eight TD passes in 2000 and added eight more TD catches in 2002.

Jones was named to the 2002 All-ODAC first team.

The 2019 football season will be the 25th year with Michael Clark as the program's head coach. In recognition of Coach Clark's Silver Anniversary, Bridgewater College Facebook Fans voted on a Silver Anniversary team, recognizing the top players from the Coach Clark era.

 Tuesday: Defensive backs