skip navigation

Annual Men's Soccer Alumni Event A Big Success

Alumni game participants
Alumni game participants

BRIDGEWATER, Va. - The Bridgewater College men's soccer team hosted its annual alumni game on April 13 and the event was once again a huge success.

More than 60 participants took part in the annual event, which allowed for a fun and highly competitive environment. The alumni event is structured with 6v6 small sided matches in a round robin format.  The alumni get to form their own teams with roughly 10 per team. After the round robin format, teams are seeded in a single elimination tournament. All teams showed good quality and had some success on the day. 

The tournament portion of the event always raises the level of competitiveness. There were several close matches, but at the end of the day, only two teams were left standing.  The #1 overall seed was earned by an alumni group with the following roster: Kevin Gidari, Ben Lewis, Gerard Miniaci, Alec Utter, Joche Rodriguez, Dean Bryant, Max Chacon, Mark Davis, Adrian Zamora, David Oliver, and Adam Weisenborn. This group went undefeated until the championship match where they fell short 4-2 to a group of players from the current team. Adrian Zamora and Max Chacon scored goals in the final and the defense looked strong in the back. Kevin Gidari was strong and Mark Davis made some outstanding saves in the net.

The team that won the championship match consisted of Thomas White, Brandon Bryant, Bryan Phillips, Leo Alcantara, Stephen Bishop, Sam Beckman, Matt Pagano, and Andrew Noll. Although this team lost a couple matches in round robin play, they put it together at the right time to win the event. Leo Alcantara had two goals and an assist in the final.  Brandon Bryant scored a fantastic goal to tie it 2-2. After Leo notched his second goal of the game, he set up Thomas White for the final goal and put the game just out of reach as time wound down for a final score of 4-2 . 

All Alumni Event Team

GK – Mark Davis
GK – Jon Bollar
GK/D – Bryan Phillips
D – Kevin Gidari
D – Connor Henderson
D – Justin Thorburn
MF – Leo Alcantara
MF – Brandon Bryant
MF – Jon Smalls
MF – Scott Edwards
MF – Nathaniel Knopp
F – Luke Stubbs
F – Jonathan Williamson
F – Jacob Heiston

The current team always looks forward to this event and connecting with players from the past. The men's program is grateful for the continued support of the alumni base and look forward to seeing them again!